Can we help?

  • I need a new SIM card

    Mobile ID works with the latest generation of SIM cards. If you have an older SIM card, you can order a new one here:

  • Forgot PIN

    During the Mobile ID activation process, you will be asked to enter your personal PIN. If you have forgotten your PIN, you can reset it here.

  • Generate recovery code

    Each time you complete the Mobile ID activation process, you will receive a code that enables you to recover Mobile ID and maintain your existing connections to service providers if you lose your phone, change SIM cards or switch to an e-SIM card. If you can’t find your recovery code or don’t have one, you can generate a new one here.

  • Test Mobile ID

    Check that your Mobile ID is working. You can run a test to check whether your Mobile ID is working correctly.

Activate Mobile ID

Frequently asked questions

  • Mobile ID is a digital identity on your mobile device for secure authentication (login) for various applications and portals.

  • We make Mobile ID available to you free of charge. In some cases, however, some service providers (e.g. online portals to which you log in with Mobile ID) may charge a fee to use Mobile ID. If this is the case, the provider will state this on its website.

  • Mobile ID is a secure authentication method. It is based on certificates in which the SIM serves as a carrier for the confidential key material. The two factors of possession (cellular telephone and SIM) and knowledge (Mobile ID PIN) guarantee a high level of security.

  • Only you set your Mobile ID PIN on activation. The Mobile ID PIN is stored exclusively on the SIM and is not known to us. The Mobile ID PIN is a 6-digit number and is not the same as your previous SIM PIN.

  • There is no PUK for Mobile ID. The PIN can be easily reset on the Selfcare Portal. Once reset, you will receive a new Mobile ID. You will then have to re- register your new Mobile ID for all applications.

  • No, Mobile ID works with the latest generation of SIM cards and does not require any installation of software on the mobile device.

  • The PIN can be easily reset on the Selfcare Portal. Once reset, you will receive a new Mobile ID. You will then have to re- register your new Mobile ID for all applications.

  • Mobile ID requires a latest generation SIM. Mobile ID-compatible SIMs can be ordered for free from most mobile network providers.

  • By activating, the key material on the SIM is created and you set your personal Mobile ID PIN.

  • Your Mobile ID only contains one attribute, a unique serial number. No personal data is stored in the certificate or made accessible anywhere else.

  • Mobile ID can be used in any country that supports SMS roaming. Mobile ID registration and use is free of charge for all cellular telephone customers of Mobile ID providers.

  • No. The use of Mobile ID abroad does not lead to any additional costs for you. No roaming fees are charged for using Mobile ID abroad.

  • Mobile ID is stored on a SIM, not on a cellular telephone. If you insert the SIM into a new cellular telephone, you automatically transfer Mobile ID as well.

  • Mobile ID is supported by all current devices and mobile operating systems such as Apple iOS, Android, BlackBerry, Microsoft Windows Phone or Symbian.

  • Mobile ID contains an application on the SIM that, when used, communicates via encrypted SMS with the Mobile ID service. Certain manufacturers have built an alert message into the telephone when this happens. This alert message cannot be deactivated. On some cellular telephones, sending of the text may have to be confirmed.

  • Certain aftermar Mobile ID usually functions without any problems with cellular telephones that are manufactured to support two SIMs.

  • A timeout has occurred during activation of the Mobile ID function. Please restart activation.

  • We recommend you use Mobile ID on a cellular telephone. Tablets often do not support the receiving of SMS, which prevents activation or use of Mobile ID. The field to enter the Mobile ID PIN By quickly double tapping on the text (e.g. "Authenticate with your Mobile ID PIN") and then on the entry field, the keyboard reappears. Another solution: Close PIN entry and start a second login immediately afterwards. The problem should not occur again on the second attempt.

  • Solution: Mobile ID has crashed on your phone. Restarting the device will correct this error.

  • Swisscom has reported this error to Apple and this bug will be fixed with a future software release by Apple. A short term solution to this problem is to change the orientation of the phone from portrait to landscape orientation, i. e. to rotate the phone accordingly. If the screen rotation is blocked, you can find out how to disable it on Apple's website.

  • If you change your Mobile ID SIM card or lose your Mobile ID PIN, you will need to reactivate Mobile ID using the self-help tools on the online portal www.mobileid.ch. The recovery code allows you to retain your existing connections to providers in such cases.

  • Write down your recovery code or print it out. Don’t store the recovery code on your computer or mobile device. Keep your recovery code in a safe place.

  • If you lose the recovery code, you can create a new one using the self-help tools on the Mobile ID online portal www.mobileid.ch. The old recovery code then becomes invalid. Successful authentication with Mobile ID is required in order to generate a new recovery code.

Können wir helfen?

  • Brauchen Sie eine neue SIM-Karte?

    Mobile ID funktioniert mit SIM-Karten der neusten Version. Falls Ihre älter ist, können Sie hier eine neue bestellen:

  • Haben Sie Ihren PIN vergessen?

    Falls Sie Ihren Mobile ID PIN vergessen oder Ihre SIM-Karte gewechselt haben, benötigen Sie einen neuen PIN.

Kontaktieren Sie uns bei weiteren Fragen.

häufig gestellten Fragen

  • Mobile ID ist eine digitale Identität auf Ihrem Mobilgerät zum sicheren Authentisieren (Einloggen) in unterschiedlichen Anwendungen und Portalen.

  • Wir stellen Ihnen Mobile ID kostenlos zur Verfügung. Allenfalls verrechnen einzelne Service-Provider (z. B. Online-Portale, in denen Sie sich mit Mobile ID einloggen) eine Gebühr für die Nutzung von Mobile ID. Falls dies der Fall ist, deklariert dies der Anbieter auf seiner Website.

  • Mobile ID ist eine sichere Authentisierungsmethode. Sie basiert auf Zertifikaten, wobei die SIM als Träger des vertraulichen Schlüsselmaterials dient. Die beiden Faktoren Besitz (Mobiltelefon bzw. SIM) und Wissen (Mobile-ID-PIN) garantieren eine hohe Sicherheit.

  • Nur Sie selbst definieren Ihre Mobile-ID-PIN bei der Aktivierung. Die Mobile-ID-PIN wird nur in der SIM gespeichert und ist uns nicht bekannt. Die Mobile-ID-PIN ist 6-stellig und unabhängig von Ihrer bisherigen PIN der SIM.

  • Für Mobile ID gibt es keinen PUK. Die PIN kann ganz einfach auf dem Selfcare Portal Ihres Providers zurückgesetzt werden. Sie erhalten dadurch eine neue Mobile ID. Danach müssen Sie Ihre neue Mobile ID bei allen Anwendungen erneut registrieren.

  • Nein, Mobile ID funktioniert mit den SIM der neuesten Generation und erfordert keinerlei Software-Installation auf dem Mobilgerät.

  • Die PIN kann ganz einfach auf dem Selfcare Portal Ihres Providers zurückgesetzt werden. Sie erhalten dadurch eine neue Mobile ID. Danach müssen Sie Ihre neue Mobile ID bei allen Anwendungen erneut registrieren.

  • Mobile ID benötigt eine SIM der neuesten Generation. Die Mobile ID fähige SIM können Sie bei Ihrem Anbieter üblicherweise gratis bestellen.

  • Beim Aktivieren wird das Schlüsselmaterial auf der SIM erstellt und Sie definieren Ihre persönliche Mobile ID PIN.

  • Ihre Mobile ID enthält nur ein Attribut, eine eindeutige Seriennummer. Es werden keine personenbezogenen Daten im Zertifikat  gespeichert oder anderweitig zugänglich gemacht.

  • Mobile ID kann in jedem Land genutzt werden, das SMS Roaming unterstützt. Die Mobile ID-Registrierung und Nutzung ist für alle Mobilfunkkunden der Anbieter von Mobile ID kostenlos.

  • Nein. Die Nutzung von Mobile ID im Ausland führt zu keinen zusätzlichen Kosten für Sie. Es werden keine Roaming-Gebühren für die Nutzung der Mobile ID im Ausland verrechnet.

  • Mobile ID ist in einer SIM verankert, nicht in einem Mobiltelefon. Wenn Sie die SIM in ein neues Mobiltelefon einlegen, übertragen Sie automatisch auch Mobile ID.

  • Mobile ID wird von allen gängigen Endgeräten und mobilen Betriebssystemen wie Apple iOS, Android, Blackberry, Microsoft Windows Phone oder Symbian unterstützt.

  • Mobile ID beinhaltet eine Applikation auf der SIM, die bei Benutzung mit dem Mobile ID Service via verschlüsselten SMS kommuniziert. Gewisse Hersteller haben auf dem Telefon eine Warnmeldung eingebaut, wenn dies passiert. Diese Warnmeldung kann nicht ausgeschaltet werden. Auf einigen wenigen Mobiltelefonen kann es notwendig sein, das Versenden der SMS zu bestätigen.

  • Gewisse nachträglich verwendbare Adapter für eine zweite SIM in einem Mobiltelefon (Dual-SIM-Adapter) werden für die Benutzung mit Mobile ID nicht unterstützt. Mit Mobiltelefonen, die vom Hersteller aus zwei SIM unterstützen, funktioniert Mobile ID üblicherweise problemlos.

  • Es ist zu einem Timeout bei der Aktivierung der Mobile ID Funktion gekommen. Bitte starten Sie die Aktivierung erneut.

  • Wir empfehlen Ihnen die Verwendung von Mobile ID im Mobiltelefon. Tablets unterstützen oft keinen SMS-Empfang, wodurch die Aktivierung oder Nutzung der Mobile ID verhindert wird. Im Sperrbildschirm kommt das Feld für die Eingabe des Mobile ID PIN Codes, aber die Tastatur fehlt. Durch schnelles zweifaches Tippen auf den Text (z.B. „Authenticate with your Mobile ID PIN“) und danach auf das Eingabefeld erscheint das Keyboard wieder. Andere Lösung: PIN-Eingabe abbrechen, und direkt noch einmal eine zweite Anmeldung starten. Beim zweiten Versuch sollte das Problem nicht mehr auftreten.

  • Lösung: Mobile ID ist auf Ihrem Telefon abgestürzt. Ein Neustart des Geräts behebt diesen Fehler.

  • Swisscom hat diesen Fehler an Apple gemeldet und dieser wird mit einem zukünftigen Software-Release durch Apple behoben. Eine kurzfriste Lösung des Problems ist es, die Orientierung des Telefons von Hochformat auf Querformat zu ändern, d.h. das Telefon entsprechend zu drehen. Sollte die Rotation des Bildschirms blockiert sein, dann finden Sie auf der Webseite von Apple, wie diese Rotationssperre deaktiviert werden kann.